Real estate appraisal

Real estate is an investment vehicle that requires the singular attention of professionals who are informed and connected to the latest market trends. Whether for sale, purchase, mortgage financing or liquidation after repossession or seizure, real estate values are subject to the vagaries of the economy, the market for each building category and the financial conditions of the property under analysis.

Our appraisers developed their experience in the field of appraisal in the province of Quebec’s leading appraisal firms.

We have received accreditation from most financial institutions, including:

  • RBC Royal Bank
  • Canadian Imperial Bank of
    Commerce (CIBC)
  • BMO Bank of Montreal
  • National Bank of Canada
  • Business Development
    Bank of Canada
  • HSBC
  • Laurentian Bank
  • iA Financial Group
  • La Capitale MFQ Real
    Estate Management
  • Desjardins Group
  • SSQ Financial Group

Due diligence review

In recent years, the experts at DeRico Experts-Conseils have participated in the majority of transactions involving major portfolios or buildings in the Quebec City region. Our professionals, led by Martin De Rico, C.App., have taken part in the due diligence review process for the following transactions:

-Place de la Concorde, a 192 units multi-residential complex
-Portfolio of shopping centers belonging to Cliffton acquired by Immostar
-Portfolio of mixed-use buildings belonging to F.D.L. Compagnie Ltée acquired by CAPREIT
-Portfolio of office buildings belonging to Marcel Adams acquired by
Whiterock REIT
-Portfolio of office buildings belonging to Kevlar acquired by Whiterock REIT
-Samuel Holland complex acquired by GE Capital
-Portfolio of retirement homes belonging to Groupe Mélior acquired by Chartwell REIT
-And many other larges-cale retail and office buildings

Feasibility study

Feasibility studies serve to determine whether the real estate project is technically feasible and economically viable. From a wider perspective, our appraisers and analysts examine the following factors: site quality, rent potential vs. project construction cost and market value once the project has been completed and stabilized occupancy wise.

The study is based on an examination of the possible financial scenarios to justify the project in terms of achievable, measurable,

realistic, quantitative objectives in a given context while proposing ways to achieve them.

The feasibility study will therefore be used in the appraisal report for purposes of financing, marketing and presentations to the project sponsors and/or investors for their approval and commitment.

Abstract

Feasibility studies serve to determine whether the real estate project is technically feasible and economically viable.

Market and cost-benefit analysis

Our market knowledge in conjunction with thorough analysis of the latest transactions provides a powerful edge for any real estate owners wishing to effectively position their property on the market.

Our expertise for estimating the rental values when renewing a space or putting it up on the market represents value-added in the owner's negotiations. Our firm regularly serves as a consultant for institutions, major private property owners as well as for lessees wishing to know the fair market rental value on a given date.

Our appraisers regularly assess sites and premises to determine their best and most profitable use. They consider applicable laws, the probability of success, and demand for the asset. We also consult and analyze the need for and profitability of real estate projects.

Abstract

Our appraisers regularly assess sites and premises to determine their best and most profitable use. They consider applicable laws, the probability of success, and demand for the asset.

Municipal assement appeal

Municipal and school taxes along with energy consumption are the most important building operating expenses. This division, directed by Martin De Rico, É.A., chartered appraiser, specializes in managing property taxes and auditing assessed values at the municipal level.

Our experts will support you as you negotiate value prior to filing the municipal roll. This includes pre-filing negotiations and/or analysis and pertinence of filing an application for the review of the appraisal after

the various appraisal services and/or the organizations responsible for municipal evaluations (OMRE) have filed the triennial role.

Once the review process is underway, our experts will seek out a negotiated settlement. If the assessor’s reply is negative, our role will be to prepare an expert report and provide testimony during the hearing before the Tribunal administratif du Québec (TAQ).

Abstract

Our experts will support you as you negotiate value prior to filing the municipal roll.

Tax management

Real estate typically undergoes a variety of changes during its useful life: expansion, construction of a new building, or even the demolition of an existing one. DeRico Experts-Conseils has developed a proactive approach for appraisal

services and the organizations responsible for municipal evaluations (OMRE). Our approach helps your municipal file to progress. It also ensures that the municipal tax laws are properly applied and that the value filed with the roll reflects the true value of your asset as of the market reference date.

Abstract

DeRico Experts-Conseils has developed a proactive approach for appraisal services and the organizations responsible for municipal evaluations (OMRE) in order to take action after any changes to your real assets.

Expropriation

Municipal, provincial and federal agencies and Crown Corporations have the power to acquire private assets for public purposes. This process, named expropriation, is governed by law as well as the jurisprudence ensuing from court decisions.

Mr. Steeve Cassidy, É.A., chartered appraiser has a wealth of expertise on expropriation gathered from his work on major files for several municipalities. These mandates usually require a negotiation with the contributor and, as needed, the preparation of an expert report for the Tribunal administratif du Québec (TAQ) to ensure that the indemnities offered and paid fairly reflect the real estate and accessory damages.

Abstract

Municipal, provincial and federal agencies and Crown Corporations have the power to acquire private assets for public purposes.

Heavy machinery and equipment appraisal

This division’s manager, Mr. Mario Perreault, É.A., chartered appraiser, is an expert in the appraisal of heavy machinery and equipments.

Whether for financing, insurance, liquidation or litigation, clients in the retail, manufacturing and raw materials processing sectors have retained our services.

Court challenges and testimony

The court recognizes several of our firm’s chartered appraisers as expert witnesses for cases of disputes, expropriation and municipal assessment appeal. The most important law firms in the province of Quebec use our services.

Construction cost monitoring

The construction and mortgage financing markets are tightly bound in real estate development. Our cost monitoring service protects the creditor and the borrowing customer.

Under its manager, Mr. Christian Laflamme, É.A., chartered appraiser, this division closely controls costs, obtains acquittances, and manages holdbacks.

Abstract

Our cost monitoring service protects all the parties involved in your projects.

Évaluation immobilière

L’actif immobilier représente un véhicule de placement qui exige une attention particulière et doit être analysé par des professionnels à l’affût des derniers mouvements dans le marché. Pour des fins de vente ou d’achat, de financement hypothécaire ou de liquidation à la suite d'une reprise ou d'une saisie, sa valeur peut varier selon la situation économique, l’état du marché immobilier propre à chaque catégorie d’immeubles ainsi qu’à la condition économique même de la propriété sous analyse.

L’expérience acquise par nos évaluateurs dans le domaine de l’évaluation fut développée dans les plus importantes firmes d’évaluation de la province de Québec.

Nous sommes accrédités par la plupart des institutions financières telles que :

  • RBC Banque Royale
  • CIBC
  • BMO Banque de Montréal
  • Banque Nationale du Canada
  • Banque de Développement du Canada
  • Banque HSBC
  • Banque Laurentienne
  • iA Groupe financier
  • La Capitale immobilière MFQ
  • Mouvement Desjardins
  • SSQ Groupe financier

Vérification diligente

DeRico Experts-Conseils est intervenue au cours des dernières années dans la plupart des transactions impliquant des portefeuilles ou des immeubles majeurs de la région de Québec. Nos professionnels, sous la direction de monsieur Martin De Rico, É.A., ont participé au processus de vérification diligente lors des transactions suivantes :

  • Complexe multirésidentiel Place de la Concorde de 192 unités
  • Portefeuille des centres commerciaux Cliffton acquis par Immostar
  • Portefeuille F.D.L. Compagnie ltée d’édifices mixtes acquis par CAPREIT
  • Portefeuille des immeubles de bureaux de Marcel Adams acquis par Whiterock REIT
  • Portefeuille des immeubles de bureaux de Kevlar acquis par Whiterock REIT
  • Complexe Samuel-Holland acquis par GE
  • Portefeuille des résidences pour retraités du Groupe Melior acquis par Chartwell REIT
  • Ainsi que plusieurs autres immeubles de bureaux et commerciaux d’envergure

Étude de faisabilité

L'étude de faisabilité tend à démontrer si le projet immobilier visé est techniquement faisable et économiquement rentable. Dans une optique plus large, nos évaluateurs et nos analystes traiteront des aspects suivants : qualité du site, loyer potentiel comparativement au coût de construction du projet ainsi que la valeur marchande une fois le projet stabilisé.

Cette étude se base sur une consultation des scénarios financiers possibles, afin de justifier le projet en termes d’objectifs chiffrés réalistes, mesurables et atteignables dans un contexte donné, tout en présentant les moyens pour les réaliser.

L'étude de faisabilité sera donc utilisée lors de la rédaction du rapport d’évaluation aux fins de financement, de mise en marché et de présentation aux commanditaires ou investisseurs du projet en vue d'obtenir leur approbation ainsi que leur engagement.

Concrètement

L'étude de faisabilité tend à démontrer si le projet immobilier visé est techniquement faisable et économiquement rentable.

Analyse de marché et de rentabilité

Notre connaissance du marché, jumelée à la mise à jour rigoureuse des dernières transactions, s’avèrent un atout non négligeable pour un propriétaire immobilier désirant bien positionner son actif sur le marché.

Notre expertise développée dans le domaine de l’estimation de la valeur locative, lors du renouvellement d’un espace ou de sa mise en marché, représente une valeur ajoutée pour le propriétaire dans son processus de négociation. Notre firme agit régulièrement comme consultante pour des organismes institutionnels, pour les principaux propriétaires privés ainsi que les locataires désirant connaître la valeur réelle du loyer paritaire à une date précise.

Nos évaluateurs effectuent régulièrement des expertise visant à déterminer le meilleur et le plus profitable usage d’un site ou d’un espace locatif, et ce, basé sur les lois et règlements en vigueur, les probabilités de réalisation ainsi que la demande pour le bien évalué. De plus, nous agissons en tant que consultants et analystes afin de déterminer la pertinence et la rentabilité des projets immobiliers.

Concrètement

Nos évaluateurs effectuent régulièrement des expertise visant à déterminer le meilleur et le plus profitable usage d’un site ou d’un espace locatif, et ce, basé sur les lois et règlements en vigueur, les probabilités de réalisation ainsi que la demande pour le bien évalué.

Contestation d'évaluation municipale

Les taxes municipales et scolaires représentent l’une des dépenses les plus importantes dans l’exploitation d’un immeuble avec la consommation d’énergie. Cette division, dirigée par monsieur Martin De Rico, É.A., se spécialise dans la gestion des impôts fonciers et dans la vérification des valeurs imposables au niveau municipal.

Nos experts pourront vous appuyer dans la négociation de la valeur ou dans l’analyse de la pertinence de déposer une demande de révision de l’évaluation.

Une fois le processus de révision enclenché, nos experts viseront, lors de la négociation, l’atteinte d’une entente à l’amiable. Dans le cas contraire, notre rôle consistera à la préparation d’un rapport d’expertise ainsi qu'au témoignage lors de l’audience au Tribunal administratif du Québec, à la suite d'une réponse négative de l’évaluateur.

Concrètement

Nos experts pourront vous appuyer dans la négociation de la valeur ou dans l’analyse et la pertinence de déposer une demande de révision de l’évaluation.

Gestion de taxes

Au fil de leur vie économique, les propriétés immobilières subissent diverses transformations, que ce soit un agrandissement, la construction d’un nouveau bâtiment indépendant ou même la démolition d’une partie du bâtiment. DeRico Experts-Conseils a développé une approche proactive auprès des services d’évaluation et des organismes municipaux responsable de l'évaluation (OMRE) afin de participer à l’évolution de votre dossier municipal. L'objectif est de s’assurer que la loi sur la fiscalité municipale soit bien appliquée et que la valeur déposée au rôle reflète bien la valeur réelle de votre actif à la date de référence du marché.

Concrètement

DeRico Experts-Conseils a développé une approche proactive auprès des services d’évaluation et des organismes municipaux responsable de l'évaluation (OMRE) afin d’intervenir à la suite de toute modification à votre actif physique.

Expropriation

Les organismes municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux ainsi que les compagnies propriétés de la Reine ont le pouvoir d’acquérir des biens de nature privée, et ce, à des fins publiques. Ce processus, appelé l’expropriation, est régi par des lois ainsi que par la jurisprudence découlant des décisions du tribunal.

Monsieur Steeve Cassidy, É.A., a développé une expertise particulière dans le domaine de l’expropriation en travaillant sur des dossiers d’envergure pour le compte de diverses municipalités. La majorité des mandats consistaient à négocier avec les contribuables et, au besoin, à préparer un rapport d’évaluation pour le Tribunal administratif du Québec (TAQ), afin de s’assurer que les indemnités offertes et versées reflètent bien l’indemnité immobilière et accessoire (dommages).

Concrètement

Les organismes municipaux, provinciaux et fédéraux ainsi que les compagnies propriétés de la Reine ont le pouvoir d’acquérir des biens de nature privée, et ce, à des fins publiques.

Évaluation d'équipements et de machineries lourdes

Monsieur Mario Perreault, É.A., qui dirige cette division, a développé une expertise particulière dans l’évaluation des équipements et des machineries lourdes. Que ce soit pour des fins de financement, d’assurance, de liquidation ou de litiges au tribunal, notre expertise a été retenue pour le compte d’entreprises commerciales, d’industries manufacturières, ainsi que celles spécialisées dans la transformation des matières premières.

Litige et témoignage au tribunal

Notre firme compte plusieurs évaluateurs agréés reconnus comme témoins experts au tribunal dans des cas de litige, d’expropriation et de contestation de l’évaluation municipale. Nos services sont donc retenus par les plus grands cabinets d’avocats de la province de Québec.

Suivi des coûts de construction

Le marché de la construction et celui du financement hypothécaire sont étroitement liés dans le développement immobilier. Nous offrons un service de suivi des coûts afin de bien protéger le créancier et le client emprunteur.

Monsieur Christian Laflamme, É.A., dirige cette division qui permet de contrôler de façon assidue l’évolution des coûts, l’obtention des quittances et la gestion des retenues.

Concrètement

Nous offrons un service de suivi des coûts afin de bien protéger toutes les parties impliquées dans la réalisation de vos projets.